107

I have now seen a second of the Oscar Best Picture nominees. The Help is a pretty decent movie about 1960s Jackson, Mississippi. It revolves around aspiring writer Skeeter and her mission to make known the domestic racism occurring against the black maids who, in her opinion, are the real ones that raise white children. The film does have a decent idea and story but for me it was still somewhat lacking. My beef with it is that it wasn’t a man’s movie. This isn’t to say that I disliked it because there were no car chases, Bond girls, or guts but rather that every single man in the movie was a complete wuss. I’m not exactly Hercules but the entire story revolved around women and it’s honestly hard for me to understand those emotions and that world. The Help is a good movie but I’m not its intended audience.

Leave a Reply

